Dr. Sam Barnes Receives Roberson Award

Submitted on: Friday, May 27, 2016
Dr. Sam Barnes Receives Roberson Award

Sam Barnes, M.D. was presented with the twenty-eighth annual Fred H. Roberson Award on Thursday, May 26 at Cookeville Regional Medical Center’s monthly board of trustees meeting.  CRMC CEO Paul Korth made the presentation, citing Dr. Barnes’ commitment and loyalty to the hospital, the betterment of healthcare in the community and his many years of providing medical services in the Upper Cumberland. 

With over 40 years of his life spent in healthcare, Dr. Barnes has been a pillar in the medical field in our community. After serving in the US Army medical corps, he established the first orthopedic practice in Cookeville and recruited new orthopedists to the area. After 38 years, that same practice is still serving patients in the area at Tier 1 Orthopedics.

Nominated by fellow physician James McKinney, MD who “moved here because of this man’s enthusiasm”, Dr. Barnes is described as a “driven” physician who “has invested his professional life toward making Cookeville and the Upper Cumberland a better and healthier place”. Even though he has retired from his orthopedic practice, Dr. Barnes has continued to make a mark in our community as a strong advocate for physician health and as a member of the state’s board of medical examiners. He has been instrumental in seeking change in the area of over prescription of opioids in our community and state. He has been a driving force in advocating for a law to mandate that state agencies coordinate their efforts to identify prescription drug deaths and to identify providers with a pattern of over prescribing opioids that lead to deaths.

Dr. Barnes received his medical degree from the University of Tennessee in Memphis in 1961. He performed an internship at Walter Reed Army Medical Center in Bethesda, Maryland; a general surgery residency at Letterman Army Medical Center in San Francisco, California; and an orthopedic residency at Brooke Army Medical Center in Ft. Sam Houston, Texas.

The Roberson Award is named for Mr. Fred Roberson who served on the hospitals’ Board of Trustees for twenty-seven years.  The award is presented annually to the individual who best exemplifies the same dedicated and loyal service to Cookeville Regional Medical Center and its patients as was demonstrated by Mr. Roberson.  Previous recipients have been Dr. Thurman Shipley, H.S. Barnes, Dr. J.T. Moore, Jr., Dr. Claude Williams, Eleen Harkins, Jean Davis, Dr. William Francis, Senator Tommy Burks, Dr. William Taylor, Reverend Lexie Freeman, Dr. Alex Case, Dr. Katherine Bertram, the CRMC Auxiliary, Linda Crawford, Dr. Walter Derryberry, Dr. J.T. DeBerry, Dr. Charles Womack, Dr. Opless Walker, Dr. Charles Jordan, Linda Buchanan, Dr. David Henson, Dr. Sullivan Smith, Dr. Jeff Crosier, Dr. Lee Ray Crowe, Dr. Glenn Hall and Dr. James Gray.


PHOTO: (left to right) – Wes and Jessica Roberson; Roberson Award recipient Sam Barnes, MD; Bill Roberson; CRMC CEO Paul Korth and CRMC Board of Trustees Vice-Chairman Bob Bell


More News Stories

Friday, July 6, 2018
Cookeville Regional Medical Center physicians, leaders, and clinicians gathered today to celebrate the Robert A. Warriner III, M.D., Center of Excellence award, which was given to The Advanced Wound... READ MORE
Friday, July 6, 2018
The Women’s Center at Cookeville Regional Medical Center continues to grow for the women of the Upper Cumberland by adding a second 3D mammography system. “The demand for 3D mammograms... READ MORE
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Barbara Davis, R.N. was presented with the 30th annual Fred H. Roberson Award on Thursday, June 28 at Cookeville Regional Medical Center’s monthly board of trustees meeting.  CRMC CEO Paul... READ MORE
Tuesday, June 26, 2018
Cookeville Regional Medical Group (CRMG) proudly welcomes internal medicine specialists Katherine Bertram, MD; Lori Austin, MD; and Sandy Bailiff, NP to its medical staff. They will be opening in... READ MORE
Tuesday, June 26, 2018
Cookeville Regional Medical Group (CRMG) will be undergoing some changes as of Monday, July 2.   CRMG is pleased to announce the addition of internal medicine specialists Katherine Bertram... READ MORE